How have you advocated for yourself during your internship, or seen advocacy demonstrated in other situations?
Ever since day one, I have been required to mail out letters, file away checks, and organize everyone's paperwork in the office. If I stayed quiet and didn't talk to other people in the office about my problems that I was having; then I would end up getting nothing done and probably get fired from my internship. Another way that I have been a self-advocate is through offering to help people when I notice that they are stressed out or worried about something. If I see someone struggling with something, I'll offer my help. Whether it be carrying things to their car or just helping them with some paperwork. I really think that I am doing a great job here and really feel welcome around the office. All of the workers are really chill and I love hearing them talk amongst themselves about gossip with clients and that sort of thing.
Allen
6/5/2013 02:59:09 am

What is one specific situation?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Me:

    Oh hey, I'm a high school student interning at a business solution firm; so I have to drink coffee and wear ties.

    "Comment on my blog and I'll leave a comment on yours."

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All